Wales | The Collective

I’ve spent a lot of my life in Wales, and it’s where I truly feel at home. Over the years I have visited many destinations across Mid to North Wales, and of course, I have accumulated a lot of photographs and memories from those journeys. I am able to reflect on the many years to show you these wonderful places. 

I want to share all the best places to visit in Wales, but for me to cover everything in detail I need to break it down into different blog posts. This series of will be called ‘The Collective’, it is where I reminisce on memories and talk about them in once place. Since it’s Summer I thought this ‘Collective’ would be best suited to the seaside. And who doesn’t love a trip to the seaside!

Wales is quite unique when it comes to its shores as it is the longest running coastal path in the world! It runs the entire length of the coastline totalling 870 miles (1400km). So there is plenty of beaches for you to visit and I’m just scraping the surface of beautiful places for you two visit.

Llandudno

This is by far my favourite destination to visit and it’s one of those destinations that you just keep going back to because it has so much to offer. From a dry Ski Slope to a Mountain Zoo it is the destination that just keeps on giving. I’ve been going here for many years in many different seasons, all except Winter. There is so much to do here all year round with so many shops and activities.

Great Orme

This is one thing that you can’t miss. It rises 207 metres (679 Feet) straight out of the sea and creates the backdrop to Llandudno’s idyllic landscape. There is a small road toll of £2.50 to drive up to the top but once there you can spend as long as you want. If you don’t fancy driving up you could always catch the tram or hop on one of the cable cars which offers amazing views. It is well worth the price, but if you don’t fancy that then you can walk up (be warned it is one heck of a hill).

Once at the top you can also go on a hike, have a picnic or snack in the cafe and if you’re up to it, explore the Ancient Mines (the world’s largest Bronze Age Mine) this is one area that is worth a trip. I love it at the Great Orme it is such a unique part of this particular area of the coast and it is great for all ages and offers a bit of something for everyone.

West Shore Beach 

If you are not a fan of the tourist area’s and like a more quiet spot to explore and relax then theres the West Shore Beach of Llandudno. This is the other side of the Great Orme and is a short trip away. On this side there is a sand beach and a paddling pool for small children. There is a calmer atmosphere here, it’s a quite part of this popular tourist attraction and is great if you want to go to the beach with fewer people around.

Conwy

This location is only a short drive from Llandudno and is a perfect spot for any lovers of birds and history. There is a beautiful RSPB reserve which overlooks the estuary. There is a host of animals to see from horses roaming wild (keep your distance they chased after me the once) to the humble birds you can see from the many bird hides. The walks to the bird hides are an experience in their own.

Conwy’s a great place to get close to wildlife, to spend time with family and friends, or just take time out in fantastic scenery that embraces 4,000 years of human history.

Source: RSPB

Conwy Castle

Not too far away from the RSPB Reserve is Conwy Castle. With 21 towers and 3 gateways it overlooks the tide as it flows in and out and can be seen from the nature reserve. I haven’t had chance to explore the Castle much but it is something I hope to do. If you have finished exploring the castle you should have time to visit the Smallest House in Britain just a short stride away in the local town. This little red house is an adorable height and is truly tiny.

Porthmadog

I went here on a hot summers day and boy was it hot! I went last year and it was a nice little area to explore with a few little shops to pop into. The rattling of the masts and the noise of the seagulls makes it a sensory experience. This little town lies on the estuary and has the Ffestiniog Railway with Steam Trains that run through it. A lovely little town to stop off before you head towards other areas such as Portmerion and Criccieth. Both along the coast and a very short drive away. These are such great places to visit, especially on a hot summer day. So perfect for this time of year!

Criccieth Beach

There is also a few honourable mentions of places that I recommend that I haven’t gone into detail with but they are all amazing places to visit along the coast. These include:

  • Barmouth
  • Aberystwyth
  • Colwyn Bay
  • Caernarfon

I hope you have enjoyed the start to this series of blog posts, there will be another one next season mentioning places more inland to get the most out of the Autumn Season!

Have you ever been to Wales? What is the coast like where you live, do you get chance to visit the seaside much?

Adell x

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. I dream of going to these places! Such stories I could write!
    – Megan Joy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wales has so much to offer. We have been there about a dozen times and yet we think we have more left to see. From your list, I can spot Criccieth Beach and the Great Orme that we are yet to see and they look beautiful in the photographs. My favourite areas in Wales are Snowdonia, St. David’s and Barrafundle Bay x

    Like

    1. I love Snowdonia it is a lovely area to visit. I haven’t heard of Barrafundle Bay that is something I will need to go and see. I don’t get much chance to explore South Wales often but if you are ever up north I recommend Llandudno the most it is lovely! x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yes, we have been to Llandudno. South west Wales is worth it. There is so much to see there. Btw the pronunciations always get the better of me – like when you say Llandudno 😉

        Like

  3. Gluecksgeist says:

    This post was so nice to read! All the places you shared with us are so beautiful! And the pictures are so so nice! Loved this post! Thanks for sharing, xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. comfykittea says:

    Beautiful photos! And the names…I love how Welsh is so different from English.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. DIYMess says:

    Lived in Aberystwyth for 3 years and Ceredigion county for 7 years. I love Wales but boy dos it rain!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. But when the weather is sunny, boy is Wales a beautiful sight to behold!

      Like

  6. Lovely pics 💖 My sister visited Wales a couple of years back and she loved it. I wanna visit as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

