My First Driving Lesson

So I just got back from my second driving lesson and I thought it would be a great opportunity to talk about how that went and what to expect for those of you who have never had a lesson before. 

Before you even think about driving its important for you to apply for your Provisional License which allows you to book your lessons and hit the road. This is for the UK, so I don’t know how it works for other countries? 

After your license arrives you can choose to have driving lessons with an instructor or with a family member or friend. Finding an instructor can be daunting, there’s a lot out there, so make sure you do your research online, or ask friends and family who have recently had lessons. I found my instructor through word of mouth.

After booking the lessons, it was time for my first drive out on the roads. I have never sat in the drivers seat before so this was a completely new experience. After greeting the instructor at my house and introducing himself, he drove out to a quiet road where we swopped seats and I was taught the Cockpit Drill.

If you choose to drive a Manual there will be a lot more stages to learn than just an Automatic. This is really overwhelming especially since you need to remember all of the stages. I was taught to find the biting point and also how to pull away, change gears, and turn.

In my first lesson, I wasn’t the best at steering or breaking, it was like I was driving a massive lorry! I wasn’t it was a tiny Vauxhall Corsa, the problem I had was forgetting to turn while trying to change gears. Oh dear… I was much better this lesson as I was able to get the right road positioning and learn visual awareness. I just need to practice turning around roundabouts and tighter corners.

Another thing to keep in mind is stalling is totally normal, I thought I would constantly be stalling the car but it wasn’t as bad as I thought I would . There are a lot of things to remember and it requires a lot of concentration. Who knew a clutch was needed so much!

The lesson I had today went a lot more smoothly but there is loads more room for improvement. But this is why we have instructors so we learn safely and correctly. You just need to trust them as they will stop the car and take over control if the situation becomes dangerous. That’s what the dual controls are there for.

Right now I’m two lessons down with many more to go, driving isn’t cheap but it is something I need to do to help my family out. This also ticks off one of my ‘New Years Resolutions‘ so that’s another bonus.

Have you ever had any lessons or do want to start driving? If so what was it like? Or if you have passed your test, what advice do you have for use beginners?

Adell x

8 Comments Add yours

  1. The last time I drove, years ago, was a big ambassador (you might not know it since it is an Indian make, a sturdy one that was a remake of a Morris Oxford) into my neighbour’s hedge. After that I have not been allowed to get behind the wheel but I hope to soon polish up those old deadly skills in the States. I think passing the test in the UK is such a big deal, isn’t it? My husband went through the process a few years ago, and even though he is a fantastic driver, he was relieved to get the licence at one go. I think he wanted to celebrate the occasion! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s definitely a process to learn to drive in the UK, I think some parts of the States have it really easy so it won’t be as hard as the UK. Thankfully I haven’t gone into a hedge yet 😂

      Good luck for when you start driving 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks Adell. I am sure I need that!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Jen says:

    Wow, you are learning how to drive Manual! I always want to learn how to drive Manual. Still haven’t got around to it. LOL All the best!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s awesome you are learning to drive manual! That’s how I first learned and it makes regular driving seem even easier! Best of luck learning!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How many lessons did it take you to pass?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t take any lessons, but I practiced driving around my neighborhood and it took about 2 weeks for me to learn.

        Like

        1. Wow that’s really fast !

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

