Camera Equipment

Just over a year ago I got my first DSLR camera. Initially I needed it for Media Coursework, and after a little bit of persuading I was able to get it as an early Christmas present. This was where the love of photography began, and I haven’t stopped taking pictures since.

After a bit of research I stumbled across the Canon 1200D, this option was one of the more affordable cameras and it had everything I was looking for. The set came with two lenses an 18 mm – 55 mm and a 75mm – 300mm Lens. After asking my Grandad for some advice I was ready for my first outing, Cannock Chase was the destination of choice. I quickly discovered landscape photography was my favourite to capture, followed by portraiture.

This is the first picture I took on my camera. It was a frosty morning which created the most beautiful outcome on the spiders webs. I practically hung out of the car window for this shot, which is a common practise of mine – not the safest option but the pictures are usually worth it. After putting it through my usual editing process the outcome turned out pretty good. All the pictures you see on this blog post was among the first few on my camera showing we all have to start somewhere with our hobbies.



As you can see photography clearly runs in the family. We all use Canon Cameras, which is great news for me as I can borrow my Grandad’s fancy lenses! This is exactly what I did to get the shot of stag below. Its been known for me to take a few hundred pictures in one day, I tend to take a lot of photo’s so I can narrow down my options to find that ‘perfect’ shot.

There are definitely a few favourite locations for me to go out and photograph. The landscapes are so beautiful, that they consistently produce beautiful photo’s every time I go out and explore. As the year has progressed I have learnt a lot more about composition, appature, lighting and shutter speed, mostly through trial and error with a bit of guidance along the way. I’ve added small accessories to my collection, this includes a Collapsible Lens Hood for the larger lens, and a fixed Lens Hood for the smaller camera lens. These are really useful for shooting outdoors to help reduce lens flair on the image. I also puchased some Cleaning Accessories. These help to get rid of any small dust particles that get caught on the sensor. Without cleaning the sensor the dust could effect the photograph leaving marks on the image. Take your time when doing this, as this is the most delicate section of the camera. It’s not as rugged as the exterior.

The most recent addition to my camera collection is a sturdy tripod. My goal for this year is to shoot long exposure pictures of cascading waterfalls almost frozen in time. There’s still plenty of time for this on my next adventure. The tripod which I use is a Camlink Premium Tripod but there is a slightly cheaper Tripod alternative from the same company. These seem like really sturdy tools which can compact down into a very small cary bag.

Whenever I’m out and about, I usually have my phone for quick shots or for times when a camera isn’t appropriate. For all the other times I use my Canon. By not having too many camera lenses or accessories it means I don’t spend ages setting up and potentially missing the shot. I can also travel lightweight which is always a benefit if you ask me. Who wants to lug around a heavy bag anyway?

But remember, the camera or the accessories that you capture photos with isn’t the most important thing, it’s the subjects you take and how you choose to frame the image. Remember that next time you see a professional photographer with the latest gear, you don’t need those expensive cameras to start taking pictures you just need passion and enthusiasm to get you started.

So which camera do you shoot with? Is there any must have accessories that you can’t live without? I would love to find out. 

Adell x


6 Comments Add yours

  1. Tabi Bee says:

    Agh I loved reading this post so much, that stag is so beautiful! Such an amazing shot! All the photos are captured beautifully, thank you for sharing xx

    https://busybeeblogweb.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Beautiful pictures!

    Like

  3. _lucy_ says:

    Loved this post.I share the same photography passion as you do and I must say, looking through those photos, your photography is really good x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Photography is such a wonderfully hobby. Thank for for the sweet words ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  4. excellence says:

    Your photography is really Best !! Thanks to share..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

